Kick-Starting A Freelance Career

SkillPages Blog

Editor’s note: This is part of a series highlighting member stories.  Nicole Holgate is a designer from South Africa who used SkillPages to kick-start her freelance career after a sudden move out of a full time role.

Working in a highly demanding, deadline driven environment, for individuals that never appreciated the massive effort it took to produce the amount of work required, I began to think that there must be a better alternative.

Then I met someone, fell in love, got married and had a beautiful baby boy at the age of forty.

Talk about life changes!

The company I worked for did not offer maternity leave.  In fact, just before the birth of my son, I was told by the Director, to “start looking for freelance work.”  I guess they thought that my focus would change from working all hours and weekends for them, to being more concerned…

View original post 433 more words